Basic soil question

• 13 Replies

Snap Dragon

• I want chickens... and ducks!
    • http://thedragonsden1.blogspot.com/
Basic soil question
« on: May 23, 2008, 20:06 »
Sorry if this seems like a real billy basic question but as it's my first year doing this here goes...  :oops:

My plot was roughly rotavated a few weeks ago but with all this warm dry weather it's forming a crust on it... it's a clay type soil.

I don't have enough stuff to cover it all over and am hoeing and raking as I put stuff in.

The stupid question is... I would like to try and get my soil as fine as possible to sow seeds in but is there a knack to it? I've raked it over but get left with lots of pebble sized bits of soil that don't break down. I've been removing them and piling them up in a corner. I don't want to create a dust bowl by overdoing the raking and end up doing more harm than good! And I don't want to lose too much soil! I could borrow a smaller rotavator and go over it again but have heard that too much rotavating ruins the soil.  :?

So getting back to basics... what's the best way to prepare soil for sowing?
Snappy 

No amount of time can erase the memory of a good cat, and no amount of masking tape can ever totally remove his fur from your couch.

I could give up chocolate but I'm not a quitter.

gobs

Basic soil question
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2008, 20:11 »
Wait till Monday's or whenever, where you are, rain and then give it a raking, etc. that should do it, might not look it, but seeds will come up in it, unless you sow them too deep. :wink:
"Words... I know exactly what words I'm wanting to say, but somehow or other they is always getting squiff-squiddled around." R Dahl

willnbirdie

• Experienced Member
Basic soil question
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2008, 20:11 »
Hi

I could of asked this question too - we are new to allotmenteering and are finding it hard to get rid of lumps as you say roughly pebble size, our soil is slightly clay too.  We dug over by fork not rotavator.