sungold tomatoes

• 8 Replies

ricky

sungold tomatoes
« on: September 16, 2014, 13:51 »
Hi I've been growing tomatoes for over 40 years and this year tried sungold beautiful tasting tomatoes but over 70% of them split with me I know all about watering etc now my season is over so if I still living next year can anybody advise on a similar tomato to sungold that doesn't have this thin skinned splitting problem many thanks ricky

Growster...

Re: sungold tomatoes
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2014, 15:02 »
I think with Sungold, they're fickle, in that they're small, and any odd take-up or diminution of watering makes more difference than say with a standard tom like Alicante.

Our early Sungold were perfect, as were the later ones - even the outdoor plants, but splitting started much later on, when conditions kept them very warm, both in and outside, and watering became a precious project each day.

We still have a few on their sixth trusses, and they're not a problem funnily enough!

I reckon it's just one of those years that you say, "well we got most of them..."

It'll be different next year, but we'll still grow Sungold!

Auntiemogs

« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2014, 15:22 »
Orange Paruche are a bit bigger then Sungold, and less prone to splitting.  I also find that they're less likely to split on harvesting if you leave the 'tops' on by bending them against the little elbow 'thingummy' where they meet the stalk.  :)
I would rather live in a world
where my life is surrounded by mystery
than live in a world so small that my mind could comprehend it...✿~ Harry Emerson Fosdick

LotuSeed

« Reply #3 on: September 16, 2014, 15:47 »
You could try Sunsugar. They're very similar in size and taste to Sungold.
Avg Last Frost Date, April 9, Avg First Frost Date, Oct 26
Avg Growing Season, 200 days

Baldy

• Hey Ho Lets Grow!
« Reply #4 on: September 16, 2014, 17:07 »