Can we talk soil?

• 3 Replies

Subversive_plot

• Global Moderator
Can we talk soil?
« on: May 21, 2022, 21:27 »
OK, I've confessed previously that I'm a geologist by profession, registered as a professional geologist (P.G.) in my home state of Georgia. My professional life has also intersected the agricultural world for most of my working life, so I'm  an absolute soil nerd as well.  I am also registered as a Soil Classifier in Georgia. 

So, I thought this would be a good place to put interesting information on things related to soil.

Interesting thing # 1:  today I re-discovered the latest version of a phone app called SoilWeb. I had an earlier version of this app two phones ago (2013  to 2015ish). What the app does is tell you the soil series that the US Department of Agriculture, Natural Resources Conservation Service has mapped on the spot where you are standing. You'll  be happy to hear that my vegetable plot is mapped as Cecil Sandy Loam, 2 to 6 percent slopes, moderately eroded. That is pretty much the conclusion I reached advancing a boring into the soil myself.

But wait, there's more... it also comes packed with information about that soil series, like thickness and characteristics of different soil horizons expected beneath the surface, engineering properties, drainage characteristics,, and suitability for agriculture (my soil is "moderately suitable for industrial hemp production for seed and fiber" Ahem  ::) 8) )

I have no idea if the app works in the UK, or only in the USA. If soil interests you, it might be worth a look, or maybe there is a similar app that works over there?
« Last Edit: May 21, 2022, 22:47 by Subversive_plot »
"Somewhere between right and wrong, there is a garden. I will meet you there."~ Rumi

Subversive_plot

• Global Moderator
Re: Can we talk soil? Soil pH an nutrient availability.
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2022, 00:13 »