Technique - How should I clear the weeds?

• 26 Replies

chubby

• My Band
Technique - How should I clear the weeds?
« on: May 04, 2010, 20:25 »
OK, I've been reading through a load of posts with suggestions on clearing an overgrown plot and I'm afraid I have a more elemental question! How do I weed?

My mate and I inherited a very overgrown plot last year in September. We dug up the large weeds, cleared out all of the bric-a-brac and (wrongly) had it rotovated. Since September though we have't done anything and we really need to get down and get started.

The first problem is psycological - it is such a big job, that we tend not to even get started cause there is loads to clear and (for me anyway) our previous attempts to clear the weeds resulted in major back pain after a couple of hours work (kicked in the next day).

The second problem is that both of us are complete novices. We aren't put off by hard work, but need to know that we are doing things right - otherwise the first problem kicks in again!

So the plot this year isn't grow up to the knees like it was when we took it on, but has grow over. So my question is how do we clear the weeds? Like I mentioned we've dug up the big weeds right down to the roots - but now we have lots of little weeds and grasses.

We've tried lifting the soil with a fork, and then sifting through picking out the weeds by hand. This is really bad on the back (and after 2 hours of it last year - put me out for two days and got me visiting the chiropractor) and didn't really feel like we'd achieved much.

I've read about using a hoe to cur the weeds - but don't they just grow back? We don't necessarily want to plant anything immediately, we just want to get the soil in a good state, and don't want to rush into anything.

Has anyone got any advice on the correct technique to weed out loads of smaller weeds correctly?

Thanks all.

Chubby

DavidT

Re: Technique - How should I clear the weeds?
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2010, 20:29 »