pottential newbie chicken keeper here!

• 21 Replies

RuthG

« on: May 19, 2008, 12:28 »
Hi all, after doing some internet research over the last few days, I've finally figured I may as well ask for hints and tips from all you chicken brains on here!

So, what would be your number one tip for:

1. Setting up a chicken coop,

2. Choosing chickens

3. Looking after chickens

The other thing I need answering would be the biggest thing for me really. Obviously I don't want to get chickens and then realise I can't look after them. They will be living on my allotment, which is a 5 min drive from where I live. The thing is I am a nurse, and I work long shifts (07.30 - 21.30) so the days I'm working I won't be able to get to them, however, I would be able to get to them the next day. They would never go without me (or someone going there) for longer than that. So, if that is doable, I guess I'll need to leave the coop open, so that the chickens can get up and go to bed when they want to, is that wise? Obvioulsy I'll make sure they have everything they need. The days that I'm on the allotment they will be able to roam (its 1/4 of an acre), and I will be making a fairly large run for them, for the times that I'm not in the allotment.

Sorry for the ramble, but I really want to get this right!

RuthG

« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2008, 12:34 »
Just to add, I only work 3 days a week.

peggyprice

« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2008, 12:53 »
Hi Ruth, welcome to the forum!

Others with more experience may be able to advise you better, but I think the biggest worry you'll have in those circumstances will be security at night - if the birds' house won't be closed up and secure you may need to make the run something like Fort Knox to keep out foxes & badgers, specially on an allotment site rather than a domestic garden...