How do you rot manure ?

• 5 Replies

alybong

How do you rot manure ?
« on: May 06, 2009, 12:16 »
can get hold of some horse manure but ive no idea what to so with it after that,,,,, what i need to know is :- do i store it in a container or just pile it up in a heap ? does it need to be covered or do i leave it exposed ? and do i need to turn it ?  Oh! and how long does "well rotted manure" have to rot for ???  Sorry but im new to this and im also blonde which dosnt help matters,,,,

scabs

• I love the smell of rhubarb in the morning
Re: How do you rot manure ?
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2009, 12:40 »
I'm new to it too, but after building my heap I was advised to cover it. This helps maintain a high temperature to help it rot down, I believe.

To be honest, the three heaps on our allotment are uncovered and seem to rot down fairly quickly (though they are a LOT larger than my own heap!)

Oliver

« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2009, 12:50 »
I'm new to it too, but after building my heap I was advised to cover it. This helps maintain a high temperature to help it rot down, I believe.

To be honest, the three heaps on our allotment are uncovered and seem to rot down fairly quickly (though they are a LOT larger than my own heap!)
I take 'well rotted' to mean - old stuff, not fresh out the animal - it will be too strong and will 'burn' the plants.  So make a heap and leave it for a bit (about six months?) to weather and lose its smell, then use it as a pre-winter dig in. The saying goes about any compost: if you are prepared to pick it up in your hands, it's ready. We just have a big pile and use it when we need it.
(Also take a look here for interest: http://www.bbc.co.uk/dna/h2g2/A2339624)
Oliver
Keep the plot cultivated, that's the best way to ensure its future.

Stevens706

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2009, 13:15 »