Big eggs

• 7 Replies

Jeanette

Big eggs
« on: November 18, 2010, 22:21 »
One of my girls always lays very big eggs, today she laid one and it weighs 105gram. I am worried about her laying such large eggs over a short period of time. ( it makes my eyes water just thinking about it). Will it do her any harm. After she had laid the egg she just carried on as normal. running around and was straight for the food again.  Am i just worrying over nothing ?. :wub: ???

Tigerwren

• Experienced Member
Re: Big eggs
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2010, 22:24 »
Hi Jeanette, i am not sure about there being a problem as I am a newbie, but wanted to say that it's very impressive for your girl!! I hope you are giving her huge treats for that  ;)
I am sure that somebody knowledgeable will come along soon to help you, but I can't imagine there being a huge problem.  Good luck!

josh5357

« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2010, 22:25 »
 Hi Jeanette
How old is she

Jeanette

« Reply #3 on: November 19, 2010, 11:10 »
The chicken that is laying the big eggs was hatched in the summer and she is a blue belle.
She is a beautifull girl and is always first to the feed she just lays enormous eggs.

8doubles

« Reply #4 on: November 19, 2010, 11:33 »
One of my hens used to lay huge double yolkers the biggest was 119g . She settled down to lay normal large eggs. The huge eggs are not good for the hen but as there is nothing to be done it`s best not to worry, just keep a watchful eye on her. :)

Ps not to generous with the treats as fat hens have trouble laying.

chasechicken

• Experienced Member
« Reply #5 on: November 19, 2010, 12:26 »
I had four ex-batts all of whom laid the biggest eggs I'd ever seen (from a chicken that is, ostrich eggs are marginally larger).  They were by no means perfectly formed though.

We had eggs like that for a good year until one by one they dried up.  We still have one of the ex-batts alive but she hasn't laid for months.