Rats?

• 9 Replies

ferreter51

Rats?
« on: July 23, 2011, 11:31 »
I've been growing potatoes for several years, but only for two in my present kitchen garden but I've never seen damage like this before.  About 50% of my Desiree tubers have slug damage, but 10% also have large, apparantly chewed-out areas.

I attach a photo of one tuber showing 'normal' slug damage marked with an 'A', but the larger area is what I haven't seen before.  Could it be rats?  Has anyone else seen this kind of thing before?
pot2a.jpg

sunshineband

• Global Moderator
  • Tallest Sunflower prizewinner 2014
    • A Little Bit of Sunshine
Re: Rats?
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2011, 19:31 »
Yes I have !!!!  :tongue2: :tongue2:

You are right that this is likely to be rats who have made the tooth marks at the bottom of the potato

We had rats in our garage last winter and they ate parts of loads of our stored spuds.

The hollow middle happened during growth and the upper brown marks ate rot -- maybe from something like wireworm damage before they were dug, and now those parts are rotting.

Done my best to help - sorry it's a bit of a list  ???
Wisdom is knowing what to ignore - be comfortable in your own skin.
My Blog
My Diary
My Diary Comments

ferreter51

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2011, 05:20 »
Yes I have !!!!  :tongue2: :tongue2:

You are right that this is likely to be rats who have made the tooth marks at the bottom of the potato

We had rats in our garage last winter and they ate parts of loads of our stored spuds.

The hollow middle happened during growth and the upper brown marks ate rot -- maybe from something like wireworm damage before they were dug, and now those parts are rotting.

Done my best to help - sorry it's a bit of a list  ???