Gardeners world

• 16 Replies

Lupin lurcher

• Experienced Member
Gardeners world
« on: March 05, 2010, 21:35 »
Having watched Gardeners World and watching they way they planted there seedling, eg toms. and sweet peas, I think I have made a complete mess of mine, with sweet peas I soked them overnight then planted them in 3 inch pots 3 to a pot, toms. planted them in seed trays then topped with vermiculite as I have with all my seeds. As for the Raspberrys that I planted in October don`t suppose I will ever see a fruit as I planted them straight into the ground then topdressed them with manure.  It looked like they where planting with so much they could have been in a stable.  This is my first year and after that I feel very deflated.
 :ohmy:

peapod

• Pea Goddess
Re: Gardeners world
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2010, 21:38 »
Lupin

The first thing you will find after a year or two is ask two gardeners a question and get three different answers!

Each has their own way that works for them, and if its doesn't this year then something else will the next.  Please, please don't feel deflated, GW isn't the all knowing guru of gardening, planting and sowing.  They do what they feel works for them, as we all do.  Its the fun of the journey that counts!
"I think the carrot infinitely more fascinating than the geranium. The carrot has mystery. Flowers are essentially tarts. Prostitutes for the bees. There is, you'll agree, a certain je ne sais quoi oh so very special about a firm young carrot" Withnail and I

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2010, 21:42 »
Your raspberries will be fine....don't worry about those :)

I also soak my sweetpeas first and I know that others on here do so as well, so don't worry about that either  :D

It sounds as if your tomato sowings will be fine as well..so don't worry about those either  :D

Don't worry.....be happy :lol: :lol:

8doubles

« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2010, 21:45 »