I want some advice please

• 19 Replies

eggsandgardens

« on: January 19, 2008, 23:40 »
Hi there everyone.
After watching everything on tv recently, I have decided to get some egg laying chickens.  I have read stacks of information and have found a site with plans for a chicken coop - http://www.buildeazy.com/chicken_coop_1.html
(luckily for me, my husband is a joiner, so I can get him on the case).
I'm just a bit puzzled - As I am new to this, should I go for chickens already laying or chicks - AND - what would be a good number for us to have (we are a family of 4) - the area i'm going to have for the run is 12ft X 4ft.  Also, as I have 2 young children, i'd like a breed with a friendly disposition - which is ????
Final question - when the coop is ready for the birds, where do I go to buy some - I live in Nottingham.

Thanks very much
Fiona

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
« Reply #1 on: January 19, 2008, 23:43 »
Firstly welcome to the forums , if you want a nice docile egg layer then go for a hybrid like warrens they will lay day after day, not go broody ( well virtually never) and 3 possibly 4 birds will do you fine, I've got 4 and get 3-4 eggs everyday. And buy them at Point Of Lay.

When you get a min you may want to post a hello in the "welcome forums" we are a nosey bunch and you'll probably get loads of replies. :lol:
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

eggsandgardens

Thanks for that
« Reply #2 on: January 19, 2008, 23:47 »
Hi there,
Thanks for the information.  May I say "what a great forum".  I have just stumbled across this site and it's EXACTLY what i'm looking for.
Ta

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #3 on: January 19, 2008, 23:49 »
Hi Fiona, good luck with your new hobby!

Have a look on www.agregister.co.uk/product-366120.html and put in your postcode.  It will give you registered point of lay suppliers in a given area.