clipping wings - yes or no

• 8 Replies

loretta cluck

• Experienced Member
clipping wings - yes or no
« on: April 09, 2012, 18:57 »
Our 6 girls have been with us for a week now, and are eating out of our hands, allowing us to stroke them etc, taking an interest in most things that are going on, and now they are dashing to the enclosure door as if they want to come out.  My intention has always been to let them "have" our side garden, and let them out whilst supervised, but worried they will get out - the fence is 6ft high.....have read and seen video showing the clipping of a wing, which i feel confident enough to do, but at the same time would rather not just for the sake of the chickens.....whats the best course of action?  the coop and enclosure we have is of ample size for them, but would like to give them some pottering about time...

dancing trousers

Re: clipping wings - yes or no
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2012, 19:19 »
Hi Loretta

I'm a newbie too and had the wings clipped on my three girls and I'm glad I did.  I had a bit of a nightmare when they all escaped into my open garden when they first arrived (cardboard box to transport them doesn't mix with wet chicken poo, say no more!).  Anyway they couldn't make a break for it.  However they've settled in really well much like yours and even though they're clipped they can flap up onto their eglu run with ease and Big Bird sees me coming with spinach and flies up to my hand before I can bend down to share the goodies.  So they seem happy and can do some low level fly/hopping and I have peace of mind!  Good luck with it all.

Dawnuss

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2012, 21:35 »