Mantis Tiller

• 17 Replies

Knee Deep

Mantis Tiller
« on: March 16, 2012, 23:34 »
Got my Mantis tiller today yippee! Put it together and took it to the plot for a test run,ended up tilling two 8 by 8 plots in about 30mins.I didnt think it would be that easy!
The ground had been dug over last year but was clumpy and a bit weedy.No problem for the Mantis as long as you take your time and dont force it,just let it do its thing.Mines a 4 stroke and very quiet and very torquey.Im very impressed so far and great service from Mantis UK.

digger1

• Experienced Member
Re: Mantis Tiller
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2012, 12:22 »
I bought a mantis last year does a good job of breaking down the soil

Plot 6B

• NRAA Website
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2012, 17:07 »
I had one for Christmas and it is a brilliant piece of kit!
The fruits of success come from hard work!
A.K.A. Nige2plots

jimpojimpo

« Reply #3 on: March 23, 2012, 21:55 »
hello complete newbie to the site.

i got my allotment start of december.

question for you guys?

I've got a mantis tiller i tried to use it last week and just can't get used to it. all the soil seems to come towards me i end up with all the dirt at the end of the plot it doesn't go very deep either. i know i doing something wrong. is there a method to it. I'm quite a practically minded but just can't get on with it. >:(

any help and no mickey taking would be most appreciated.

thanks very much

jimpo
« Last Edit: March 24, 2012, 05:19 by Gwiz »

Gwiz

« Reply #4 on: March 24, 2012, 05:25 »
I've not used a mantis for sometime but I seem to remember that dragging it backwards helped, well, it does on my mantis equivalent Ryobi tiller.
I'm pretty sure someone who has one will pop along shortly to deny or confirm...... :)

Vit

• Experienced Member
« Reply #5 on: March 24, 2012, 14:25 »
hello complete newbie to the site.

i got my allotment start of december.

question for you guys?