I can't be the only one.

• 8 Replies

Livinhope

I can't be the only one.
« on: June 25, 2010, 21:14 »
I'm almost embarassed to post this query.  I'm not very good with nutrients etc., my experience extends to bfb, sulphate of potash and growmore, and of course good old manure.  We are always hearing about nitrogen, for me and all the other who are too scared of looking daft, what would you use to add nitrogen to the soil? :unsure: 

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: I can't be the only one.
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2010, 21:23 »
You're not the only one  :wacko:

Have a look at this link on the main website, might answer a few questions!

http://www.allotment-garden.org/fertilizer/index.php
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

Livinhope

« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2010, 21:59 »
Thank you for that.  So I'm not far off the track with Growmore?

Trikidiki

« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2010, 22:36 »
Sulphate of Ammonia will give you the biggest hit of nitrogen you can practically get.

However, use with caution because applied at the wrong time it will give lots of lush growth which early in the year will get frosted very easily, later in the year it promotes leaf growth at the expense of fruit, if that's what you're after. So it would be good for sweetcorn as the plants are growing but detrimental as they are getting to flowering stage.
Chicken manure will give you a high hit of nitrogen as well but the same problems as above.

Unless you need a huge nitrogen boost then a more balance fertiliser such as BFB or stable manure (or Growmore) applied early will be a better option (bearing in mind you don't want to manure just before a root crop). Best to have the nutrients there in advance rather than trying to fix a problem later.

solway cropper

« Reply #4 on: June 25, 2010, 22:53 »