Help! Growing Raspberries

• 10 Replies

Donnay

• Experienced Member
Help! Growing Raspberries
« on: January 08, 2012, 18:36 »
Can any body help me? I'm new to allotment growing and for Christmas i have been brought a small 6ft by 6ft fruit cage. I want to grow raspberries and I'm thinking of having two blueberry bushes in pots, to ensure the soil is correct for them.

I have read that raspberries canes needs to be against support but I'm unsure how to do this in such a small area. Can anyone please give me some advice on how o do ths that I can understand?

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: Help! Growing Raspberries
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2012, 18:40 »
A post either end of the cage and run some wires at various levels between them. Tie the canes to the wires.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

Donnay

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2012, 18:52 »
Would I need a walk way either side of the raspberries for picking?

DigIt

• Experienced Member
  • Each to their own
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2012, 18:57 »
Would I need a walk way either side of the raspberries for picking?

Probably.
Might get a few scratches otherwise, when you reach through.
In all things of nature there is something of the marvelous.
Aristotle.

Diary comments and questions

gobs

« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2012, 19:02 »
Can any body help me? I'm new to allotment growing and for Christmas i have been brought a small 6ft by 6ft fruit cage. I want to grow raspberries and I'm thinking of having two blueberry bushes in pots, to ensure the soil is correct for them.

I have read that raspberries canes needs to be against support but I'm unsure how to do this in such a small area. Can anyone please give me some advice on how o do ths that I can understand?