question about layers mash

• 13 Replies

Debsie

• Experienced Member
question about layers mash
« on: October 11, 2010, 21:02 »
girls have been with us since Fri now, feeding them on layers mash as it was what they were used to. I just put it dry into the feeder, them seem to like it and don't make much mess. The thing is by the evening whats left looks like mainly dusty stuff. Should I chuck this and start with fresh each day or can I just top it up, seems a waste to throw it away?

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: question about layers mash
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2010, 21:40 »
sorry never fed the mash but I know if you make it wet then you are supposed to chuck it.
Staffies are softer than you think.

lynnsb

« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2010, 22:11 »
I am not an expert had mine since july, but i feed them layers mash and i never throw the leftover away, just top it up every morning. If it does get wet or messed up then I will clear it out and refill, but dont throw away for no reason. My girls are very fit and healthy.

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2010, 22:14 »
I don't feed layers mash, but pellets and even then sometimes you get dust left in the feeders.  After a while, I tip in onto the ground in the run where the girls love to dig it over for any nice bits they missed!  Whatever is left they just dig into the ground while scratching!

hillfooter

« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2010, 02:15 »
I'd recommend you move them to pellets at the earliest.  Mash has lots of disadvantages for smal scale feeding.  It is usually used for large scale and commercial layers as it's more economic when used in a ration based system.  In a ration system it's fed as a measured ration at set times of the day which is quite inconvenient for free range which usually use