getting parsnips to grow

• 12 Replies

karlooben

getting parsnips to grow
« on: January 12, 2009, 19:51 »
hello guys , this is my first time posting in this section as i normally live in hen house or chicken chat but  i thought it was about time i came here  :D .

i have had my allotments coming up to 4 years now and my first year i grew the most massive parsnips but since then i havent been able to get any to grow anybody got any tips please.

i've tried the toilet roll with the seed inside filled with compost , or a hole in the ground filled with compost but these ways havent worked for me.
"Until one has loved an animal, part of their soul remains unawakened."

jannie

• Experienced Member
getting parsnips to grow
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2009, 20:02 »
last year i done both ,but i put 3-5 seeds in each hole in the ground and they all came up so had to thin them out other people at the lottie didn't have one come up so just luck sometimes, although i think the freshness of the seeds matter and in the past i bought them cheap and had no joy so last year went to my local garden centre  :) jan

karlooben

getting parsnips to grow
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2009, 20:07 »
i think i tried old seeds and new seeds and had nothing ,i must admit hardly anyone had parsnips last year except 2 ppl and one of those dont even touch her plot and as far as i know they went to waste  :( .

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
getting parsnips to grow
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2009, 20:07 »
As jannie said, make sure the seed are fresh, always buy new stock.

Don't be in a rush to do it, it's better a bit late when the ground is warmer than too soon.

I sow a pinch of 6 or so seed every 8" and thin to the strongest and never gone wrong.

Famous last words!
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

karlooben

getting parsnips to grow