Help!!

• 9 Replies

little miss sunshine

Help!!
« on: February 20, 2007, 23:39 »
Hi there,

I'm a complete novice at growing my own veg so please forgive me if I sound dumb!
 I've got two young children and want to teach them how veg grow ( not on the shelves of Tesco!). I'm planning on starting our own little vegetable patch soon but I don't know what seeds to sow, or when to sow them. I'm really looking for advice on what are the easiest and most hardy vegetables to grow. We don't have the best soil as its rather clayey but I'm determined to grow someting!

Any advice would be great

Many thanks
Little Miss Sunshine

muntjac

Help!!
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2007, 23:48 »
welsome sunshine and ur gonna enjoy the site . read the gardening posts for all the details and help from all the members and we will make sure you have a nice supply of good home grown veggies for ya kids . and seeing as this is the cooking pages we will look to you for some nice recipes  :wink:
still alive /............

Annie

Help!!
« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2007, 23:56 »
Atlast,John named you as the 900th member and I was begining to think he`d made you up,Welcome.Oops!now I`ve forgotten your question!

WG.

Re: Help!!
« Reply #3 on: February 21, 2007, 05:19 »
Quote from: "little miss sunshine"
I'm really looking for advice on what are the easiest and most hardy vegetables to grow.
Hi Miss and welcome to the Forum.  Veg which I'd suggest as being easy and fairly quick growers (to keep the kids interested) ... provided you actually like these veg! ...

radish
lettuce
shallot from sets
spring onion
peas (need supporting)

You could then maybe get one or two courgette plants from a local nursery since the plants grow big (and yield tasty veg).  Courgettes would benefit from somewhat improved soil in the immediate area of planting.  Send a reply if you want more details or have a look through the Diary section of this website for more ideas.

richyrich7

• Paper Potter