plastic lineing coop

• 32 Replies

joe2369

plastic lineing coop
« on: March 04, 2012, 23:18 »
Hi to all , me and lad just built are 1st coop and lined it , roof , walls with thick plastic stappled with gun and going to use rubber matting (convayer belt) rubber to cover floor  , The coop is made of mostly of pallets 1.4 m x 1 m x 1.2m  plus nesting boxes on side also plastic lined will this help against red mite??  I will add all we do to this string as we are total newbys are 3 hybreds are coming in 2 weeks , run in woods is about 7m x7m but hope to let them wander out but were close to a road (any advise ) how high for 7x7 run or total enclose ?( run is on slope so should keep from bogging) shadey under trees but cut a few to give sunlight. Will take photo's and post here.   Looking forward to eggs 8)

viettaclark

Re: plastic lineing coop
« Reply #1 on: March 05, 2012, 00:02 »
What about ventilation? :ohmy:

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2012, 07:10 »
I think you have provided a nice hiding place for the redmites to sleep during the day. They are so tiny that they will be able to get behind the plastic very easily.
Also as viettaclarke has said - what have you done about ventilation - this is one of the most important things in coop building.
Staffies are softer than you think.

Sassy

« Reply #3 on: March 05, 2012, 08:14 »
I can see why you thought the plastic lining was a good idea but unfortunately it is great for red mite and also there is likely to be condensation which will drip onto the chooks. However, I imagine it is easily remedied. The red mite can also find a home under the rubber matting.

Chooks do like to sunbathe but will enjoy the protection of the trees, they are essentially jungle birds. :)

Do keep asking it is the best way for us all to get the advice we need :)
Experience is what you get when you didn't get what you wanted!!

helens-hens

« Reply #4 on: March 05, 2012, 10:34 »