chickens and turkeys together

• 6 Replies

sion01

chickens and turkeys together
« on: July 10, 2011, 14:44 »
I may have the oppertunity keep some chickens again and was also thinking of getting some turkey chicks for Christmas but I remember reading somewhere a few months ago that turkeys will get something called blackhead from chickens and that they shouldn't be kept where they have regular contact.

Haveing said that I remember keeping both on a smallholding when I was a child(well my parents did) with no problems what so ever.This was a really old book circa 1910 so the disease might have been eradicated by now.

Has anybody got any advice?

bantam novice

Re: chickens and turkeys together
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2011, 15:57 »
I have read on this forum that they should not be kept together because of the blackhead virus.  I am not an expert, however, and I'm sure someone more experienced will be along to advise.
11 bantams (and counting!) 2 dogs 1 cat

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2011, 16:02 »
I wouldn't advise you to keep both of them on the same ground, the risks aren't worth it. Grannie Annie has both and she thoroughly scrubs her coop and treats the ground inbetween raising chicks and getting her Christmas turkeys.
Staffies are softer than you think.

hillfooter

« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2011, 18:26 »
Blackhead is carried by chickens and passed through a cecal worm so rigourous worming and sanitising the ground between populations would be advisable.  They can be kept together but there are significant risks.  However if you are only talking about two or three birds you might take that risk whereas with tens of birds you wouldn't.
HF
Truth through science.

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2011, 18:41 »