Chrysanthemum

• 7 Replies

Elaine G

Chrysanthemum
« on: January 01, 2011, 13:26 »
I had quite a nice chrysanthemum on my windowsill, but it went very limp and all the flowers died. It probably did not get enough water while I was away.
So, I have trimmed off all the dead flowers and soaked it for a while. Will this be any use?
Is it likely to flower again or are they designed/forced to flower and die, in which case  shall I just put it into the compost bin?

I am not good with houseplants  ::)

Thanks

Elaine
The foolish man seeks happiness in the distance, the wise grows it under his feet - James Oppenheim

cob nut

• Experienced Member
Re: Chrysanthemum
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2011, 17:57 »
When I have been given chrysanthemums in pots after the flowering has finished or the plant is looking sad, I put the pot outside on the patio, they flower again for me & were doing brilliantly this winter until the snow covered them...I have kept pots of these 'mums growing on the patio like this for years now with them flowering every autumn/winter.

Elaine G

« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2011, 18:36 »
Oh thanks for that cob nut. I had stuck it in the utility room (warm) for now. Looks like it would be better off somewher a little cooler, though I think the patio may be a little unkind at the moment!

Elaine

Paul Plots

« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2011, 18:47 »
Elaine if you can place it in an unheated greenhouse, cool room or a cold-frame it should survive. Trim away any dead foliage and don't over water - very slightly damp is good enough.

Once the weather improves and warms you could plant it out in the garden or into a larger pot. Quite often they are treated with dwarfing agents so when they re-grow they are often taller and less compact.