Broody help!

• 8 Replies

Jacinta

Broody help!
« on: May 27, 2011, 21:59 »
I'm a newbie and my Rhode Rock Evil Edna has gone broody i think.  Came in from work to find her nowhere to be seen, she was in the nest box and stayed there until bedtime with no plans of moving.  I collected the eggs from under her and she puffed up and made strange noises.  I put some food and water by the nest box for her and she gobbled away!  There's just the 3 girls, no cockerel.  Does this mean she has stopped laying for now?  What should i do?  No space to get eggs to hatch and i work full time so can't police her too much.  Help with what to do please!  Wouldn't mind getting it sorted over the bank holiday before work on Tuesday.  Thanks.

orchardlady

Re: Broody help!
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2011, 22:14 »
Just love your hens name Jacinta!
The only way I've had success in breaking a broodie hen of her broodieness over the years is to put her into a cage (I use an old dog crate). Put it up on a brick at each corner and make sure she has food, water and some shelter from the elements, preferably in a shady spot to. Keep her cage within sight of the other birds so she doesn't become a stranger once you put her back with the gang. You can pop her back into the hen house over night but be firm and put her back in the cage the next morning first thing. The idea is to make life uncomfortable for her and for her to have nowhere that is remotely comfortable to settle down on. The cool breeze wafting around her nether regions and the new,temporarily uncomfortable lifestyle should sort her out. She will not be happy with this arrangement but harden your heart and try to ignore the sad little face :(. Do this for a minimum of three days, which should see you over the bank holiday weekend. Hopefully once you put her back with the other birds on Monday night she should have given up the idea of being broodie. However if she returns to the nest box I'm afraid you will need to repeat the above.