Aubergines

• 14 Replies

Coldfeet

Aubergines
« on: September 13, 2013, 12:19 »
This is my first year growing aubergines (well first year for anything actually) and they have done really well.  I have had about 8 fruits so far, good size ones too.   There are about another 8 on the plants, from the size of a plum to almost 'supermarket' size.   My question is can I leave them on the plants for now, will they continue to get bigger? Or should I cut them all now?   If I leave them, will they spoil as it is now not very warm?   I would cut them if a frost was likely, but not forecast for this week. 

Thank you for reading - any views welcome. 

Coldfeet

Re: Aubergines
« Reply #1 on: September 14, 2013, 20:54 »
Maybe I am the only one with any aubergines to worry about!   ;-)

compostqueen

« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2013, 20:57 »
You probably are actually, as if you check out the other thread on this subject, you'll see the lack of success

I have a massive total of two aubs of any size and I was dithering today about whether to cut them.  I think they're ok to keep growing on as we're not getting frost yet, so it would give them a bit more growing time. I take it you are feeding them  :)

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2013, 21:06 »
I'm just waiting for my third and probably final aubergine to get a little bigger!  So not doing very well either!

compostqueen

« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2013, 21:08 »
I've got two (only two in the whole world, sob) so I'm reluctant to cut them. I'm saving them for a special occasion  :tongue2:

Kate and her Ducks

« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2013, 21:30 »
I have quite a few but they are small so going to try and give them a little longer.
Be like a duck. Calm on the surface but always paddling like the dickens underneath.

Coldfeet

« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2013, 22:14 »