Planning for winter vegetables

• 15 Replies

wyandotty

Planning for winter vegetables
« on: July 01, 2009, 09:06 »
I have started to harvest onions and potatoes now which leaves me some space to put winter vegetables in.

I have only ever planted veg during spring and summer so would like some advice on what varieties to grow of brussels, cabbage and cauliflower for the winter.  Also, is it alright to put these plants into ground that something has  just been lifted from and should it be given any feed.

Too many questions I know but I am new to winter veg.

Thanks

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: Planning for winter vegetables
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2009, 09:20 »
It's too late to sow brussel sprouts, don't know if they will have plants in the garden centre
I've only just sown winter cabbage MInicole, and Samantha small savoy, Tundra large savoy/white cabbage hybrid a very nice cabbage fully winter hardy if you have the space, and swede Marion still to sow. (Sowing dates savoys...may to July, minicole may to june, swede Mid april to mid july.)If you still have room after that, you can sow cabbage to overwinter to use as spring greens :)
I don't grow cauliflower as i don't have enough room..................someone else will help with that i'm sure :D

Aidy

• Location: Born n bred Lancastrian living in tropical Blackpool
    • Aidy Neal Photography
« Reply #2 on: July 01, 2009, 09:51 »