Potatoes and Onions

• 10 Replies

gingerbrad

• Hoos - Scandinavian Design For Life
Potatoes and Onions
« on: March 28, 2011, 12:31 »
Hi All

I am a bit of newbie to this so please bear with me.

I have finally got my hands on an allotment, it's been a long wait. i have been growing in the back garden but i can now branch out. It's a half plot but gives me much more scope than before. Im still getting to grips with whats there, fruit bushes (black current and some other current bushes etc) but i have dug over a good portion of it and want to crack on.

So anyway, I have been given some potatoes from my neighbour at home but he was not sure what variety they were (he said he got them from work). He thinks they were something called Rocket but are these main crop or earlies? If earlies do you think i am too late in planting them (they are in the greenhouse chitting now), i am in the north in Leeds.

In addition i was in Wilkinsons and noted they have onion sets called turbo, sturon and stuttgarter. Now i have had sturon in the back garden before but never heard of 'turbo' does anybody have any experience of them and/ or stock from wilkinsons, are they any good?

Any advice would be really appreciated.

Thanks
Brad

Dom2599

Re: Potatoes and Onions
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2011, 12:49 »
Hi,

I planted all my tatties at the weekend, 1st, 2nd's and maincrop all in at the same time, i'll just see how they go...i tend to follow what the old fella next to me does, he's been doing it for years, so hopefully i wont go too far wrong

With regards to the onions, i've just put in some sets, i had these potted up a couple of weeks ago, they are red onions, never used the ones you have metioned tho

Good luck with the plot

BabbyAnn

« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2011, 13:33 »