Another Potato Thread

• 7 Replies

LotuSeed

Another Potato Thread
« on: March 30, 2015, 01:09 »
I'm new to the world of potato growing, could someone please help me out here?  I have five varieties, norland red, dark norland red, red pontiac, kennebec and Yukon gold. (All potatoes taste the same to me but I figured I get a few types to see which hold up best during processing.  Red pontiac and kennebec are labeled as main crop and the other three are earlies. I'm not interested in extending my growing season as I plan on canning all of them. They're all going in raised beds. Should I just plant them all at the same time and harvest as the plants die back? Do I need to cut them into pieces or can I plop them in whole?
Thanks in advance,
Utterly Confuzzled
Avg Last Frost Date, April 9, Avg First Frost Date, Oct 26
Avg Growing Season, 200 days

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: Another Potato Thread
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2015, 06:35 »
I plant all at the same time. "Early", as I mentioned in another thread, refers to the growing period, not the planting time, so these will mature first. So yes if you want mature potatoes, harvest them when the foliage dies back.

However, over here, earlies are often harvested whilst immature to use as "new" potatoes, whilst they are about egg size, or even smaller. Main crop, (or late) potatoes are usually grown to mature for storing and are not so good harvested immature as they tend to be harder.

I'm afraid I don't know much about canning food, (nothing at all actually), but wonder why you would need to do it for main crop potatoes that can be stored as they are. It seems to me an extra unnecessary process when the potato is a natural storer in it own right, so why process it? I would have thought only apply it to the smaller, early potatoes - but as I say - I know nothing on this front!