How do you feed your hens?

• 15 Replies

Caramelle

How do you feed your hens?
« on: June 05, 2011, 20:43 »
Novice here, if you couldn't tell ;-)

Our chooks haven't arrived yet, but I've got two books which have been great except for this particular question. So what do you guys do?

Feed at set times per day?

Food out at all times?

Scatter food out on ground?

Feeder?

Can't wait to hear what you guys do!
If of any relevance - we're getting a couple of lovely ex-batts!!

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
Re: How do you feed your hens?
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2011, 20:49 »
chickens are grazers so they should have layers pellets in a feeder available at all  time during the day and water. They do not need anything over night.
Staffies are softer than you think.

rachelr

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2011, 20:51 »
ditto

Honeysuckle

• Experienced Member
  • Kira & Bruin
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2011, 20:53 »
Hi there and welcome  :D

Feed and water should be available all day but no needed overnight.   ;) Use feeders either with a raincap or place in a sheltered area in case it rains.  Personally. I wouldn't scatter food as this will attract mice/rats etc  :tongue2:

Happy chicken keeping!  :D
2 German Shepherds, Kira & Bruin, 4 hybrid chicks Chryssie, Violet, Sweet Pea and Astra.

Caramelle

« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2011, 21:00 »
Thanks so much for your help guys! Funny the things you wonder about I suppose! :-)

orchardlady

« Reply #5 on: June 05, 2011, 21:01 »