permaculture

• 9 Replies

wildeone

permaculture
« on: July 11, 2007, 17:58 »
what does this mean???? Am i being really thick? :oops:  I've heard it a few times now!!!

Any explanation would be great!!!

gregmcalister

• Experienced Member
permaculture
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2007, 18:09 »
I'm no expert but it refers to crops which are grown permanently in the one place - asparagus for example.  In a similar way monoculture refers to an area cultivated with a single species.  

I hope this helps.

Feel free to correct me if I'm wrong.

wildeone

permaculture
« Reply #2 on: July 11, 2007, 18:16 »
thank you!!!! :D

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
permaculture
« Reply #3 on: July 11, 2007, 20:58 »
Think of it as permanent sustainable agriculture , it's a fascinating subject, some people grow the equivalent of hundreds of ton's per acre in a back garden.

Here's a link to the permaculture magazine and  I used to have it many years back when it was only young and so was I   :lol:  what permaculture means quite miss reading it actually.
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

wildeone

permaculture
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2007, 07:54 »
Thanks richy!! Get article!!

J x

gregmcalister

• Experienced Member
permaculture
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2007, 09:31 »
OK I was nearly there!

carrie

permaculture
« Reply #6 on: July 20, 2007, 13:14 »
i wondered te same thing, amazon has masses of books on the subject. i understand now but not sure i would be able to explain.

freyaluck

• Experienced Member
permaculture
« Reply #7 on: July 20, 2007, 20:02 »
I have just been on one of Patrick Whitefields course so kinda know what it is :wink: