Beer nearly ready for bottling

• 6 Replies

stompy

Beer nearly ready for bottling
« on: January 30, 2012, 15:40 »
Hi all,

Ok, my brew is going strong but within the next week or so i will as far as i am aware need to bottle the beer.

I have never used bottles before only a keg and always used a gas cylinder to add the fizz.

What i would like is advice 101 from someone in the know.

many thanks

Andy

Kleftiwallah

Re: Beer nearly ready for bottling
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2012, 16:52 »

I used to bottle it in bottles ! and crown cap them.  Now I bungs it in plastic fizzy pop bottles with screw caps and a few weeks later when the stuff has cleared, carefully and slowly  decant it into a jug for sharing, and or drinking.     Cheers,     Tony.
I may be growing OLD, but I refuse to grow UP !

nobby400

« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2012, 11:21 »
Andy

I have been craft brewing for years and always bottle my beer.  The best and esiest bottles are the plasic bottles you get mixers like tonic in or if you like larger bottles coke.  These can be re-used many times, i have been using the same bottles for years with no problems.

Ideally you need another fermenting vessel of the same size.  You want to siphon your beer into the other sterilized and rinsed out container leaving all the yeast behind.  Don't worry there will be enough yeast in suspension to carbonate your beer.
Mix 80-100 grams of sugar with some hot pre-boiled water and mix with you beer in the new vessel.  This gets over the hassle of trying to get sugar into each bottle.  You are now ready to bottle your beer.

I have a bottling bucket which is another fermenting bucket with a tap at the lowest point to which I attach a tube.  The tube goes to the bottom on the bottle and open the tap and the bottle is filled without getting too much air into the beer.
You can use a large jug and a funnel with a tube attached that reaches the bottom of the bottles and simply poor your beer into each bottle.