When the laying stops?...what to do?

• 11 Replies

looe-looe-belle

• lohmann brown hybrids = eggs! eggs! eggs!! :)
When the laying stops?...what to do?
« on: July 16, 2010, 10:55 »
Hello everyone!

Just wondered as I am a novice....what do you do when your hens laying either slows down or stops altogether....do you still keep the hens....or do you cull them  :wacko:

My thoughts would be to keep them, however, if space is a problem and you want eggs....where do you go from here?

I will only be keeping up to 6 hens, so will feel like they are my pets...sort of!!....

Any comments would be appreciated.

regards Patricia

Pretty Chick

Re: When the laying stops?...what to do?
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2010, 11:02 »
I've 20 chickens altogether and intend to keep them all once they've stopped laying as we see them as pets  :). Some have stopped laying already and we'll let them live their lives until they die naturally, but I'm sure other people do differently  ;).
All lives are precious.

Kelloggs

« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2010, 11:03 »

All my girls are part of the family, if they stop laying then they can just relax and enjoy life :)
  They all have names and I wouldn't even consider culling any of them or my boys :(

Pretty Chick

« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2010, 11:04 »

All my girls are part of the family, if they stop laying then they can just relax and enjoy life :)
  They all have names and I wouldn't even consider culling any of them or my boys :(

Exactly the same as ours - they're all named and we will never get rid of any of them, even the boys!  :)
« Last Edit: July 16, 2010, 11:05 by Pretty Chick »

Jeanette

« Reply #4 on: July 16, 2010, 11:51 »
I could never cull any of mine they are family. :)

joyfull

• Monarch Engineering Ltd
« Reply #5 on: July 16, 2010, 12:23 »