Where to seed?

• 5 Replies

Diggit

Where to seed?
« on: February 25, 2011, 22:35 »
I want to get my seeding done this weekend but I'm not sure where to keep them once planted in the trays. I have the spare room (once I've tidied a space!  ::) ) or the shed. Any thoughts on which would be best?

My first thought is that the shed may be too cold and the spare room may be too warm? It's my first time so was just wondering what would be best. I have the trays with the clear plastic lids if this makes a difference?

Thanks in advance
Paul
Paul

Fisherman

Re: Where to seed?
« Reply #1 on: February 26, 2011, 06:46 »
Depends on what your sowing but in general they will need somewhere with good light once your seeds germinate. General vegetable seeds need a temperature of about 18C to get good germination rates. If they don't get enough light your seedlings will go leggy and will not grow on properly. Perhaps in your spare room if its South (ish) facing and near the window. If its got a radiator in it try turning it down if the room is too warm.

Just a point to note - I grow a lot of various vegetables and won't start my main lot of  sowing until mid to late March even later for some seed like runner beans, french beans, courgettes etc. as they can't stand the frost.

There is a seed sowing chart on the site somewhere if you have a search round (or somebody may advise where it is).

Kristen

• K's Garden blog
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2011, 07:17 »
There is a seed sowing chart on the site somewhere if you have a search round (or somebody may advise where it is).

http://www.allotment-garden.org/vegetable/general/sowing-harvest-vegetable-chart.php :)

Check the back of the seed packet too, and if you are new to it, and a bit "north", then don't pick the earliest date.

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2011, 07:25 »