Carrot Soil

• 7 Replies

Lottie Mary

Carrot Soil
« on: August 30, 2010, 09:40 »
I'm new to allotment gardening, having had my plot for a grand total of about 1.5 weeks!  But one of the guys on at our allotments said that people there don't have much luck with carrots because the soil is too stony and dense.  Now the soil on my plot doesn't seem particularly dense, but I have come across quite a few stones.  If I were to spend some time preparing a bed and perhaps mix in a bit of sand, would this make a difference?  The guy said that the carrots DO grow - but are often mis-shapen.

I guess I've just had plans for about 1/3 of the plot to be dedicated to staples - potatoes, onions and carrots - so I'm determined to make this work!

prakash_mib

Re: Carrot Soil
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2010, 09:50 »
welcome and congrats on the new plot. The carrots love sort of loamy, free draining soil. Doesnt mean you wont get carrots at all. You might get funny shapes, forks and allsorts. Since you have just got hold of a plot and it is a good time to plan of the next season you can sort things out. A bed/raised bed is a very good idea but you have to find a mix of tosoil and compost to go in that. wait for more advise though.  :)
One kid is handful. Two kids.... Example for chaos theory. Hats off to my mum who managed three...

paintedlady

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2010, 10:03 »
As well as preparing a bed (raised with additional top soil/compost as mentioned, or riddling to remove stones if you don't have many) you could grow a short stumpy carrot like Early Market http://www.kingsseeds.com/kolist/1/VEGETABLES/V-C/CARROT/5/11108.htm instead or try something like Paris Market Baron http://www.kingsseeds.com/kolist/1/VEGETABLES/V-C/CARROT/9/11115.htm - they are small round carrots that grow to about a 50p size.
Failure is only a temporary change in direction to set you straight for your next success.
Only those who dare to fail greatly can ever achieve greatly.

Lottie Mary