Cucumber production - what's normal?

• 8 Replies

ex-cavator

Cucumber production - what's normal?
« on: June 24, 2011, 13:33 »
It's my first year growing cucs & a bit disappointing. After losing a couple of plants early, I only had one indoor plant (Telegraph?) in our conservatory. I've kept it fed & watered & it grew to 7ft before I pinched it out. We've had four reasonable size & very tasty cucs from it & we'll get one, maybe two more, but the plant now has mildew (I've been removing the bottom leaves as they get badly infected) and has stopped producing new flowers. Tbh, I had thought it might go on producing through the season, but maybe I was misinformed.

So, this might be perfectly normal - I just don't know. Can you tell me what I can expect so I can plan for next season? Have I done OK or should I have done something different / or would different varieties be more productive? Unfortunately all of my ridge cucs have perished once they've been planted out on the lotty but that's another story  :blush:
« Last Edit: June 24, 2011, 13:35 by ex-cavator »

sunshineband

• Global Moderator
  • Tallest Sunflower prizewinner 2014
    • A Little Bit of Sunshine
Re: Cucumber production - what's normal?
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2011, 15:04 »
Cucumbers should come with the middle name of kamikaze to be honest  :lol: :lol: :lol:

Sounds like your plant might need a feed to boost intself into more flower production
Wisdom is knowing what to ignore - be comfortable in your own skin.
My Blog
My Diary
My Diary Comments

Springlands

« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2011, 16:00 »