Polytunnel lessons learned

• 7 Replies

AlaninCarlisle

Polytunnel lessons learned
« on: October 22, 2011, 22:07 »
It's my first year of ownership and lessons learned are:
  • Build raised beds before erecting tunnel.

Allow more spacing between plants than in open ground to allow for more vigorous growth.

Three melon plants in a 7 metre polytunnel are enough

Paths around the insides edge of the tunnel need to be at least a metre wide.

Don't leave unattended with doors open, rabbits will take advantage

Use perforated weed prevention membrane for paths rather than plastic sheet so water can drain away

Gandan57

Re: Polytunnel lessons learned
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2011, 23:36 »
Have you forgotten one Alan?

A 7 metre polytunnel is not big enough.
I`m left handed, what`s your excuse?

AlaninCarlisle

« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2011, 11:38 »
Could be right there Gandan. Trouble is that it's such a perfect growing environment that I  tended to put stuff in there that could grow perfectly well, if a little slower, out in the open. It was certainly brilliant for getting stuff like sweetcorn, celery and celeriac to maturity quickly

AlaninCarlisle

« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2011, 12:50 »
The other lesson I've learned is that repetition and reputation are two different things. I'd already posted almost identical comments about lessons learned in another thread on here :wub:

shokkyy

• Mishka
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2011, 22:33 »
When you talk about paths around the 'inside edge' of the tunnel, do you mean you have paths running round the outside of your beds as well as down the centre? And why do they need to be a metre wide? Sorry to be pedantic, but I'm currently working out the layout of my tunnel so I'm trying to learn from your lessons learned :)

stompy

« Reply #5 on: October 25, 2011, 07:59 »
Willl you be posting any pictures of your build shokkyy?

AlaninCarlisle

« Reply #6 on: October 25, 2011, 20:18 »