Cucumber going Mad !

• 15 Replies

chillinut

Cucumber going Mad !
« on: June 23, 2011, 19:44 »
Hi All

I am new to this Grow your own Lark :)

We have a cucumber in the greenhouse that is growing very well has approx 18-20 small cucs on it ( 3-6 cm long at the moment )

What I need to know is do I need to pinch out the top growth ? or do I just let it grow as it is doing - it's not very tall only about 2 1/2 feet tall lots of leaves and the little twisty things  :blush:

Hope someone can help :)

Caroline

Trillium

Re: Cucumber going Mad !
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2011, 21:20 »
If you don't want more cukes, then pinch out the tops.

If you want more cukes, leave them alone. The twirly things are called tendrils and help hold the plant up if it climbs, or anchors it from winds if it crawls on the ground.

To keep the harvest good and coming, keep the plants well watered (usually every day) and never let the cukes yellow on the vine which will then stop production because it will now have set seeds. Best to pick off older cukes and compost them rather than leave on the vine.

Growster...

« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2011, 05:52 »
If you don't want more cukes, then pinch out the tops.

If you want more cukes, leave them alone. The twirly things are called tendrils and help hold the plant up if it climbs, or anchors it from winds if it crawls on the ground.

To keep the harvest good and coming, keep the plants well watered (usually every day) and never let the cukes yellow on the vine which will then stop production because it will now have set seeds. Best to pick off older cukes and compost them rather than leave on the vine.

Thanks Trillium, I'm always wondering if I should pinch them out, so always leave about half to grow it alone...

8doubles

« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2011, 07:58 »
Pinch the surplus cuc`s out at 3-4"long and pickle `em.

chillinut

« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2011, 18:13 »
Thanks all  :)