Bedding for coop/nest box?

• 10 Replies

looe-looe-belle

• lohmann brown hybrids = eggs! eggs! eggs!! :)
Bedding for coop/nest box?
« on: July 21, 2010, 13:06 »
 :) Hello everyone!

As I am new to this could anyone tell me...when the coop with integral run is put into my garden in the selected space....do I put anything on the floor of the run?...at the moment it will be just short grass.
Also...what do I put inside the coop?...is it sawdust? or straw?
And the same goes for the nest boxes....what goes inside the nest boxes?...just straw?

Also, how often should the whole thing be cleaned out?...I am guessing once a week?

And can anyone tell me a good cleaning regime?

Thanks for all your help!!
regards Patricia

Beano

Re: Bedding for coop/nest box?
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2010, 13:20 »
I can just tell you what we have done.
Nothing on the run floor, there's grass and it gets moved whenever the grass is gone. That is not that often as they have a large part of the garden fenced off for them (besides the run) which they spend all day in.
We have cut a square of lino for the coop floor and have put wood shavings on that.
In the nest boxes we have wood shavings on the base and some straw on top.
All this makes cleaning very easy which I do once a week. I will poo pick the nest boxes if they get mucky between cleaning. When I clean every week I dust some mite powder on the floor under the lino and on top, between the lino and wood shavings. Every 3/4 months I clean with jeyes fluid.
I've had no complaints from the ladies so far.
Hope this helps.
El.

Mulberry1990

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2010, 13:38 »
Chickens like to be on grass to grub around in, so nothing there.
In the coop and nest box we use a product called Hemcore. You can get it in most pet places.