Dehydrating Machines

• 22 Replies

goldendaisy123

Dehydrating Machines
« on: April 09, 2012, 15:58 »
Hello!

After a major glut last year of soft fruit I'm thinking about buying a dehydrating machine this year to save a little room in my freezer! I have no experience of these and would welcome any advice on suitable models, I've had a quick search on google and they seem to vary in price so much, do the expensive models produce better results? :unsure:

Thank you

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: Dehydrating Machines
« Reply #1 on: April 09, 2012, 16:03 »
if you put 'dehydrator' into the search there are many posts - here's one as an example, which may help  ;)

http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=65021.msg743217#msg743217

goldendaisy123

« Reply #2 on: April 09, 2012, 16:33 »
Thank you - just what I needed  :)

Mrs Bee

« Reply #3 on: April 09, 2012, 16:41 »
I got an excalibar last year. I went on the premise that it would be a good idea to get the biggest as I might regret getting the smallest. I actually think I would have been better with the smaller model after all.

It has 9 drying trays and works well;no probs so far.

In all honesty I haven't used it overmuch. Mainly for dried tomatoes so the oven isn't tied up and out of use. I use oodles of those.

Have also dried some plums and grapes which were delicious.

I have to say that it is not my most favourite, must have piece of kitchen kit.
Hope that helps :)

Trillium

« Reply #4 on: April 09, 2012, 21:54 »
I forget what model I have but I bought extra trays for it thinking I'd get loads of use from it. Used it a few times the first month, then we got our electric bill. YIKES!!! Haven't used it since. I'm looking for a good idea for a solar food dryer.

Mrs Bee

« Reply #5 on: April 10, 2012, 08:35 »