Roses

• 8 Replies

Novice

• Experienced Member
Roses
« on: August 09, 2006, 11:40 »
As much as I'm a novice vegetable gardener....I'm a total "know-nothing" about Roses.
We have several types in our garden, and despite annual pruning ( as per various books and In-Law advice ) every year the same thing happens....they get ver leggy, and although they do flower ( quite profusely in some instances ) when the flowers come, they weigh the whole thing down, and they just bow over looking a bit sorry for themselves.
What am I doing wrong ??

hermon

Roses
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2006, 13:30 »
are they climbers?

Novice

• Experienced Member
Roses
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2006, 08:57 »
No, they're shrub roses ( is there such a thing ?? )
Someone told me to use a feed specific for Roses, as generic plant food contains too much ( or was it not enough ? ) nitrogen.
Does that sound feasible ?

wellingtons

It sounds to me ...
« Reply #3 on: September 03, 2006, 17:32 »
... like you've getting too much growth which is quite weak.  Do you feed at all?  What kind of soil? How much sun do they get?

James

• Experienced Member
Roses
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2006, 21:10 »
Prune them harder.  Much harder.

The nitrogen will make it create more green and less flower, but I'm not convinced that it would give you WEAK stems.

becky

• Experienced Member
    • http://chickentopia.blogspot.com/
Roses
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2006, 21:31 »