Gladioli...what now?

• 8 Replies

lsp12

Gladioli...what now?
« on: October 25, 2009, 14:50 »
After much neglect since mid September (kids, work recent bouts of illness  in the family seem to have taken over my every waking hours!!) I was delighted to get back to the allotment this morning (under London's stunning sunshine) and started clearing and cleaning up a bit!

I had been meaning to get my gladioli bulbs out of the ground for weeks (when I was told it had to be done) and now I have collected them back...I am not sure what to do with them (forgot to mention, this is my first year gardening , as the questions below will make clear!):

Am I right to assume I need to clean them, cut back the stem back to the bulb?
For those which seem to have split/duplicated... am I meant to separate them?
Some of the bulbs have lots of tiny pearly bulbs attached: can these be made to grow?
and finally: how do I store the bulbs safely till I put them back in the ground?

Any tip would be most welcome!
Laurence

Paul Plots

Re: Gladioli...what now?
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2009, 01:14 »
Most of mine are still in the ground - poured today so the job is delayed yet again.

Some years I have left gladioli where they are as my plot does not get water-logged. Up they have come the following year without any problems.

Normally I prefer to lift mine rather than have them grow on the plot in the same place each year. (In the garden's flower-beds they stay put).

Once lifted I trim the stem to within a couple of inches of the bulb and put them on trays in the greenhouse to dry. The small bulblets will, eventually, develop into new flowering bulbs if you have the room to plant them in a nursery bed and leave them to develop like grass. Two or three years later they should be big enough to lift and then replant for flowering. Usually, however, I plonk them on the compost heap unless they have reached a promising size in their first season.