Villiers MK12

• 6 Replies

Bigbadfrankie

Villiers MK12
« on: March 20, 2010, 19:27 »
I am going to try and get my MK12 engine going. Does any one have a engine manual or a link to one please.
« Last Edit: March 20, 2010, 19:56 by Bigbadfrankie »
always have a target
and an objective.

dorimower

• Experienced Member
Re: Villiers MK12
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2010, 20:19 »
« Last Edit: March 20, 2010, 20:21 by dorimower »

Bigbadfrankie

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2010, 21:34 »
Thanks Dori

prinsteadpoint

« Reply #3 on: March 22, 2010, 07:53 »
Hi I was given a Howard 200 fitted with a Villiers mk12 because the owner always had difficulty starting it, but I have been using it now for 3 years and it starts first time, but only needs the choke if it is very cold, or has not been run for some time. To get it working I first cleaned out the float chamber of the carb which had dirt and residue in it. I then removed the flywheel and cleaned and set the points at exactly the right gap. Finally I removed the cut out switch, which had been DIY fitted to the handlebars, and reverted to using the switch OEM fitted to the side of the engine. It now starts easily and pulls 2HP and I have cleared 2 allotments from rough ground to full cultivation which says a lot for a 40 year old machine. Good luck - if you do flood it take off the air filter and give it a pull and refit it when it starts. 

Bigbadfrankie

« Reply #4 on: March 22, 2010, 22:03 »
I am a long way from any flooding problems :D
I have two engines. One turns over and sparks, this one would seem to be a MK12/2 and the other one turns about 3/4 of a revolution each way and i think its a 12/1. The second engine also spews out oil from a nut on the barrel casing.
The pull start spring is broken and niether has a exhaust or air filter.
Thanks to Dori I have some info so I will make a start in the workshop later this week if I have no over time.

smud6ie

« Reply #5 on: March 23, 2010, 08:54 »