Azada's or regular fork and spade?

• 10 Replies

wildgoose1uk

Azada's or regular fork and spade?
« on: August 15, 2011, 09:36 »
Hi all

I am new to all this having reached middle age without a garden big enough to grow anything in.  Well now things have changed!

My garden was just grass to begin with.  Not a cultivated level lawn you understand but just grass.... In the dim and distant past it was part of an orchard and more recently an unused paddock.

I have cut some beds in.. It really is hard work isn't it.  The soil is heavy claggy clay.

My question is would I be better carrying on cutting the beds in with my stainless gear or would I be better using an Azada?  From what I read there seems to be some advantages but I just need some more information before I shell out for more gear.

Thanks

Nobbie

Re: Azada's or regular fork and spade?
« Reply #1 on: August 15, 2011, 10:31 »
I've got an azada and clay soil and they are good once the soil is broken up, but I reckon you'll do your back in if you try to cut through turf on heavy clay with one.

operabunny

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: August 15, 2011, 19:37 »
You can use an Azada to cut the grass off first by using a 'skimming' motion rather than a digging motion. Personally I would kill off the grass and pull the dead stuff up before digging. I found clearing my plot much easier once I did that. Before I killed the grass and weeds it was practically impossible to get through the mass of roots and the soil.

If I could only have 1 garden tool it would be an azada because it is so versatile and you have a better digging action that spreads the load over more different muscles and doesn't stress points in your knees and back like using a spade on heavy soil does.

stentman

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: August 15, 2011, 21:12 »