The dog attacked my hen... help/advice

• 14 Replies

frenchliving

• Experienced Member
The dog attacked my hen... help/advice
« on: September 16, 2012, 20:16 »
My 3 month old silkie chicks decided to go for a wander today through to the neighbours fence and there dog has attacked it, she is in a real mess. Lots of skin showing and feathers missing. They (i have 4) havent been mixing with my other hens well, so I have put them in a seperate coop, so that she can have a quiet night. Im not sure if she will be alive in the morning, but if she is I will try and get her in the vets. If I cant any suggestions to what to do. Im a newbie chicken keeper and am worried about handling them too much, didnt want to scare her much more, after we eventually found her (she had been missing all day!)

Ive read something on here about porridge and warm water????

Thanks

themagicaltoad1

Re: The dog attacked my hen... help/advice
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2012, 20:43 »
Sorry to hear about your hen. You need to keep her separate from the others as they will attack any hens that they see as injured or sick. Can you put her in a box inside for the night, somewhere quiet? Also if you have any purple spray to put on the wounds, it's an antiseptic. She will be in shock, don't try to handle her too much or keep peering in at her, leave her in peace as much as possible tonight. Let us know how she is in the morning.

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2012, 23:16 »
If you don't have wound powder of purple spray you can apply cornflour on the cuts which will help.  If she survives the night you can assess her wounds and clean with boiled and cooled water.  Then apply wound powder, purple spray or cornflour.  It is amazing how birds can survive from really bad cuts.  My quail have had their heads pecked right down to the flesh and a bit of purple spray, peace and quiet they have been as good as new.