Muddy Chicken run!

• 6 Replies
Muddy Chicken run!
« on: August 17, 2011, 16:21 »
Hello all,

I am very new to keeping chickens (4 weeks) and I am loving this new experience. We have an enclosed chicken run which was covered in grass when the girls arrived but they have now turned it into a patch of mud! Is this ok for them? Should I be putting anything down for them? They do seem very happy but I worry about what it will be like in the winter!
Letting them free range is not an option as our garden is not secure and we have lots of foxes in the area.

JACDORE

Re: Muddy Chicken run!
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2011, 16:36 »
Hi there.  My garden is exactly the same axcept no foxes etc.  We had lovely lawns but our girls ate there side.  We also have dogs and they pee'd and killed there side and then the girls ate wat was left.  As you say in winter its a nightmare, the mud.  So we went and got some cheap (Alot of folk give away free slabs too) several slabs so most of it is roughly slabbed and they have mud on the far part.  In summer i buy them a roll of turf every now and then and also grow a section of pure grass in a sandpit which they make vanish within an hour.  Then cover it in netting etc and re-grow again until the right length.  My 6 girls have all got on just fine with no permenant grass.  What they now love loads and loads is when we play "Hunt the worms" as every now and again i lift the slabs and boy oh boy there's some juicy worms under there and its the best game they love.
2 rottys 4 cats, 2 gecko's, 2 beardies, 2 hamsters, 1 guinea pig, 1 rabbit, 12 various fish, 6 hens, 1 hubby, (lol)

hillfooter

« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2011, 17:29 »