What can i use ??

• 14 Replies

stewart79

What can i use ??
« on: July 12, 2009, 10:53 »
I'm new to home brewing , I've made some nettle beer , which was surprisingly tasty , but what other things could i use , i have loads of spinach in the garden and loads of beetroot leaves/stems left over ,could these be used .
has anyone got any other ideas that have had success with? I'm all up for experimenting with unusual ingredients.

Kate and her Ducks

Re: What can i use ??
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2009, 11:34 »
Well I'm thinking of having a go at peapod wine.
Be like a duck. Calm on the surface but always paddling like the dickens underneath.

stewart79

« Reply #2 on: July 12, 2009, 11:49 »
sounds interesting , do you think you could use anything for brewing?
« Last Edit: July 12, 2009, 11:55 by stewart79 »

Kate and her Ducks

« Reply #3 on: July 12, 2009, 14:38 »
Not a clue as really only just getting started. I suspect that you can use anything orgnic really from fruit to grains toveg to weeds! Best avoid anything known to be poisonous. :tongue2:

SG6

« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2009, 16:51 »
I assume that you are looking at wines that are not made from fruit and possibly which you can pick from hedgerows etc.

There is a barley wine,  bramble tip wine, clover wine, dandelion wine, hawthorn berry wine, oak leaf wine, peapod wine, rosehip wine, sloe wine, wheat wine.

Several flower wines: cowslip, marigold, rose petal and ohers.

ciderman

« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2009, 21:20 »
hi stewart theres not alot that wont make wine  pea pod is a good wine i make all my wine in the 21 day recipe  that i got from my dad some are good in 21 days some need more .we only use 3 ingrediants   if u want a recipe pm me if u like cider i make alot of the good stuff from 30 day cider 2/ 2 year cider   still dont no if its worth the wait ok cider man

stewart79

« Reply #6 on: July 13, 2009, 08:39 »
Thanks for the info , i was thinking more along the line of beer making.