Totally New To Chicken Keeping - Where Best To Start?

• 9 Replies

MickyB

• Experienced Member
Totally New To Chicken Keeping - Where Best To Start?
« on: November 09, 2013, 17:43 »
I have been allocated a little extra space and keeping a few chickens (6 ish) sounds like a good idea however I have no previous experience in keeping chickens, can anyone point me in the direction (or comprise) a really basic (idiots) guide into keeping chickens and what I would need for a basic set up.

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

MickyB

• Experienced Member
Re: Totally New To Chicken Keeping - Where Best To Start?
« Reply #2 on: November 09, 2013, 18:24 »
Thanks  :)

Stewart P

« Reply #3 on: November 09, 2013, 19:38 »
Hi Micky B

(almost) totally new to chicken keeping ourselves.  Did some web-based research and found the following site VERY useful: http://keeping-chickens.me.uk/

Monday 28th Oct - ordered a chicken coop on-line (assembled in dining room during the next few days) contacted British Hen Welfare Trust (http://www.bhwt.org.uk/) to arrange collection of some ex-battery hens, ordered on-line or bought locally - feed, feed bin, grit, straw bedding and all other essential paraphernalia to get things going

Last saturday (2nd Nov) collected 4 ex-battery hens and put to bed in coop as it was dark when we got home

This Saturday, one week later and the little cuties have achieved the following: pecking order established and now all at ease with each other, night-time routine established (take themselves to bed at dusk), have free-ranged in the garden all today, getting more comfortable with human contact (ie catchable in the garden) and 14 very tasty eggs.