Raised beds

• 16 Replies

bobbyboy

Raised beds
« on: April 19, 2006, 16:15 »
You,ve probably heard this before, for this I apologise, but I would appreciate some advice.

I'm new to gardening and am in the process of selling the second love of my life, my boat, and swapping it for the garden.  I have just aquired the bottom half of the garden next door in order to turn it into a vegetable garden.  The greenhouse and shed are now on order!

I am getting on, just a little bit, and have been warned by the Doc that I could have problems with getting about in the future because of an ankle injury that I had some years ago.  Coupled with this I'm not the fittest person in the world, digging and bending doesn't  seem to like my back!

I heard that raised vege plots were a good idea and I thought of having some built. I can't find much information on the internet and would appreciate some advice.

What do you make them off?  I looked at the price of old railway sleepers and almost had a heart attack.  I thought of concrete blocks, has anyone any experience of using these. I know that I could use wooden frames but want to make them last a long while and was concerned that wood does rot in time.

What is the best height?  I have seen all sorts of heights ranging from a few inches to about four feet (sorry but I'm still not metricated yet)  I am 6 foot tall and thought that about 3 feet would be high enought to prevent a lot of stooping and bending.  Is this sensible?  I know that it might be expensive what with the top soil that I would need but don't mind spending the money to get it right.

I know that digging it over will be a problem but have seen some small tillers(?) or rotovators that claim to be ok for raised beds, any tips or advice on these would also be appreciated.

many thanks

Bob
I dig, therefore I am

John

• Administrator
    • Low Cost Living
Raised beds
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2006, 18:13 »
Hello Bob