No dig philosophy / green manure crops

• 24 Replies

Geoff Newsome

No dig philosophy / green manure crops
« on: June 09, 2020, 17:51 »
Hi. I am relatively new to allotment gardening. I am reading a great deal. I am very attracted to the "no dig" philosophy, and also soil cover with green manures. But the two seem mutually exclusive. Green manures seem fantastic for ground cover etc in winter, but then need DIGGING  in spring. Any thoughts please??

Take care.

Geoff Newsome.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
Re: No dig philosophy / green manure crops
« Reply #1 on: June 09, 2020, 18:16 »
Welcome to the forum :)
The theory is, that  if you are covering your soil surface with a layer of compost/manure each year as recommended, then you don't need to use green manure crops.
Green manures are used by the diggers amongst us :)

al78

« Reply #2 on: June 10, 2020, 12:46 »
Cut down green manure in Spring, then cover with manure or other organic matter, or put cardboard down before covering with organic matter.

jambop

« Reply #3 on: June 10, 2020, 13:11 »
Hi. I am relatively new to allotment gardening. I am reading a great deal. I am very attracted to the "no dig" philosophy, and also soil cover with green manures. But the two seem mutually exclusive. Green manures seem fantastic for ground cover etc in winter, but then need DIGGING  in spring. Any thoughts please??

Take care.

Geoff Newsome.