Japanese Onions

• 5 Replies

littleoldme

Japanese Onions
« on: July 20, 2007, 15:08 »
Hi, I'm very new to gardening so forgive any amateurish questions.  

I would like to grow Japanese onions.  They say to sow them in mid August straight into the prepared ground.

My dilemma is I am renting and so shouldn't really dig up the garden.  I was hoping to grow them in pots or poly pots, but as I have no idea as to how big they will get or how much soil they will need I'm not sure if this is the way to go.  Also how many onions would I get from each plant, would I need many large pots in the garden?  

I was planning on sowing the seeds in little pots and then transplanting to the larger pots, is this okay to do?  And could I start now if I start them off in little pots in my plastic greenhouse?

Thanks for any help in advance

WG.

Japanese Onions
« Reply #1 on: July 20, 2007, 22:05 »
One onion from one plant (get sets, not seeds).

I've never grown them in pots & would be concerned that the entire pot might freeze solid (you don't say where you are to tell me if this is a likely scenario for you).

If you try it, I'd suggest a minimum of 5 litres compost per plant

mum of 3

• Experienced Member
Japanese Onions
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2007, 19:02 »
they are pretty big,too big for pots i'd think ,weve just picked ours and they were grapefruit sized.

littleoldme

Japanese Onions
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2007, 21:16 »
Hi Guys, thanks for replying.

The seeds are on the way but looking into it more I see that growing onions isn't practical without a large area to plant in.  

I've just got the gardening bug now, with herbs and tomatoes, and was hoping to grow another vegetable.  Are there any other vegetables that can be planted in pots and around this time of year by any chance?  

Wow grapefruit size?  That's impressive! :D

corndolly

• Experienced Member
Japanese Onions
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2007, 21:55 »
Yes Loads .