Im new to cider making, can you help me?

• 6 Replies

nuzuki

• Experienced Member
Im new to cider making, can you help me?
« on: September 27, 2012, 22:03 »
We have two different types of apples. Im unsure what kind but shall take pics for posting up another day. I have 3 x 20litre buckets that were from a takeaway and used to contain curry powder. I also have an abundance of cheap tesco beer bottles that have the twist caps on. We have just bought a fruit press from ebay so I would like to get started making my own cider.

So I was given some baby bottle sterilising solution, can I use that to sterilise everything before I get started or is it best to use sterilising tablets?

Also will any wine making yeast do the trick? Im sure it will state on the packet the quantity to use but maybe someone with experience can tell me how much to use to get the best results.

Once I make the apple pulp do I fill the bucket to the top with water? Any need to add sugar?

How about temperature? Will it be ok just left in the conservatory? We have an oil heating system in this house and the last time I made cider was when I was around 13 and we put it in front of the gas powered boiler in the kitchen. The reason I ask this is can the fumes from the oil heating effect the quality of cider?

Do I need to put a check valve in the bucket lids? i.e. so air can get out but not in?

And finally once I have it all setup how long do I need to wait? I would prefer sweet cider to high alcohol content cider but as I have 3 buckets I was going to do one of one kind of apples. The other 2 buckets would have the other type of apple in there but one left longer than the other for comparisson.

Any help with the above would be greatly appreciated, thanks

AnnieB

• Experienced Member
Re: Im new to cider making, can you help me?
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2012, 14:38 »
Use a proper sterilizing chemical, I suspect that what sterilizers a baby bottle is not the same as for wine/cider.