thinking about chickens....any advice???

• 6 Replies

wombling2006

« on: April 10, 2007, 15:05 »
Hello everyone, haven't been online for a long time now (recovering from op last year).....

I'm getting back to ok fitness now and have been dabbling and trying to do stuff at my pen.....
If any of you remember it was a challenge and half and then some.....
I've managed to keep the knot weed etc to a minimum on my original plot which houses my caravan, timber for recycling,bricks etc...
Good news is Ive got the plot next door as well which is 100% better!!!!
I've taken down the partition fence and got tomatoes, garlic, potatoes, various flowers and fruit trees, mushrooms and lots of seeds going at the mo....
Its now a massive double plot with a summer house, potting shed/greenhouse, 2 sheds and the best bit a chicken house and enclosed run....
It just needs a clean out then its ready to go....I will take pics and put on the measurements of it later on today....
I'm a complete novice, but would love to re-home some battery hens(please note I am a soppy vegetarian and will be naming them)....desperate for advice and guidance on anything from feeding to health to what to put on the floor for them..

sorry its so long winded...trying to make up for past 6months I think..

many thanks and happy easter./new beginnings to everyone

trudi :wink:
....beauty is in the eye of the beholder....

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
« Reply #1 on: April 10, 2007, 18:21 »
Hi Womble,  So glad to see you back again.

Chickens really are so much fun  :D

Grannieannie is the person to give you advice about rescue hens, she has about 50 of them.  I'm sure she will be along to tell you all about them.

Viv

• Experienced Member
    • http://www.oldmotherhubbardsgarden.blogspot.com
« Reply #2 on: April 10, 2007, 18:55 »