When should the shallots be ready?

• 10 Replies

LivvyW

• Experienced Member
When should the shallots be ready?
« on: June 12, 2011, 20:34 »
Its my first time growing shallots this year.

I have them both inside and outside, sets sown in March. The ones in the tunnel are good size small onions. The outside ones look like they could bulk up a bit.

Is there an optimum time to harvest. Should i be waiting for foliage to die back?

When do you harvest yours?
Liv.

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: When should the shallots be ready?
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2011, 20:35 »
When the foliage dies back, as you say.

Anytime July onwards, weather dependant.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

LivvyW

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2011, 22:41 »
Cheers!

Salmo

« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2011, 00:42 »
They will push each other apart until they are horizontal. Hold a stem and wriggle it. If the bulbs is loose and seperate easily they are ready to lift. The stems will be soft but the leaves quite often remain green. Put a fork under them and just ease them up. Leave them on the soil for a few days to dry and then shake any soil off and prop them on something so that the air can circulate. As with onions, when you think they are dry then dry them some more.

Usually they are ready in early July. In this strange season I have just lifted mine, same with my garlic. Sitting out in the rain. I do not expect they will come to any harm.

DD.

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: June 13, 2011, 05:26 »
Mine were planted in February and are nowhere near ready.

I'll stick to my less complicated visual way - when the leaves go yellow, they aint gonna grow no more!

Gandan57

« Reply #5 on: June 13, 2011, 06:07 »